So, hi and stuff.

5 Jan

If you’re reading this…well, you probably are on the wrong site.

Seriously though, welcome to my new blog where I will write about board games.  Yeah, I know there are already 15 million of those, and I don’t profess to bring anything new to the table.  I simply enjoy playing board games, and I want to share my thoughts and stories about them with anyone willing to listen.

For a while in 2011-12, I helped write for Games & Grub (I was the “Games” side).   If you’d like to keep up with what “Grub” is doing… check out Eric’s tumblr blog at http://fullofchit.tumblr.com/

So, what am I going to cover here?  

Quite honestly, a little bit of everything.  There will, of course, be reviews of new (or new-ish) board games.  I may occasionally highlight a Kickstarter project that looks interesting, and for sure when I get a Kickstarter project game in, I will write about those.  I will also be reviewing iOS versions of board games, as I don’t get to play games as often as I may like.  There are times where my iPhone becomes my most frequent opponent.

My main focus will be on digging through my basement game collection, and sharing some of the oddities and forgotten gems that most people may not know about (sometimes for good reason).  I’ve been collecting board games seriously for over 15 years, and I’ve got quite an eclectic collection on my hands.  I blame the fact that I spend a lot of time shopping at discount and thrift stores.

I am a fan of comments, so please leave them!  Unless you wish to insult my upbringing…send those to my Myspace page, thanks.

I guess I’ll end by saying thanks for stopping by.  The first reviews will be showing up shortly.  I won’t be prolific, but I will try to keep things active.  You can also follow me on twitter @scooterb23 where I will update when new articles go up.

*Insert witty end catch phrase here*

2 Responses to “So, hi and stuff.”

  1. Kimberly Scott January 11, 2013 at 7:26 am #

    So much fun, I have a friend on the West Coast who every year when we visit him rolls out a few games that take hours upon hours to complete. I’ll look forward to seeing what you dig up in your collection and give a spin!

    • scooterb23 February 7, 2013 at 11:47 am #

      Thanks for the encouraging words. I’m trying to strike some sort of balance between my dusty games, and the new stuff I buy. Early on, it’s been mostly new games, just because it was Christmas time. Once I get past 1 more new game, I will definitely be diving into the collection…I think I have some fun stuff coming up 🙂 .

Leave a Reply

