Vacation Pictures!

15 Sep

For the past 2 weeks, I have been on vacation from work.  I didn’t go anywhere exotic.   Heck, even the one natural wonder I could have seen along my route that everyone said I should go see, Niagara Falls, was deemed to be too far out of the way (20 miles) for my dad and I to bother with.  And really, who could blame us?  It’s just water falling over a cliff after all.  We’ve seen that before.

So, what did I do over all that time off?  I spent a lot of time reconnecting to gaming.  This summer did a lot of damage to my gaming time, which did a number on my mood and attitude in general.  By the time Labor Day rolled around, I was just in a really lousy mood and pretty miserable to everybody all the time.  Thankfully, this 13 day break has done a lot to help make me feel much better.  I’ve also realized just how vital gaming of all types is to my personal mental well-being.  I dare say, I’m going to make it a goal not to go that long without meaningful gaming sessions again.

So what did I do over all that time, and how does it relate to this blog?  Among other things, I took a trip to Rochester, New York to The Strong Museum of Play.  At The Strong, they have a very large exhibit discussing the history and importance of board gaming, so I thought I’d share some images and thoughts about that part of the museum here.

Photo from CJS Architects site

The Strong Museum is all about encouraging play – not just for children, but for adults as well.  Throughout the massive 2-floor structure there are hundreds of things for kids of all ages to play with.  For our purposes here in this blog, I will focus on one area on the second floor of the museum.  This area is called “Game Time!” and is about the history of board, card, and even role-playing games over America’s history.

120This exhibit talks about a few main concepts.  First, it shows how games have evolved over time thanks to influences such as technology, entertainment, and even other cultures.  They also talk about how games have had unique ways of allowing people to experience historical events.   The third is that they show just how many different styles and genres of games have been made over the years.  If you take anything away from this exhibit it is that there is a game out there for everyone.

Below is just a small sampling of the displays that they had.  There were easily several hundred games on display.

126

Games from the 1960s

Games from the 1970s

Games from the 1970s

Famous Battleship cover of dad and the son playing a game, while mom and daughter wash dishes.

Famous Battleship cover of dad and the son playing a game, while mom and daughter wash dishes.

130131

Display on racing games, loved the art on this box and board

Display on racing games, loved the art on this box and board

 

Party games!

Party games!

 

Dexterity Games

Dexterity Games

 

Love this Spongebob Game!

Love this Spongebob Game!

 

142

Ms. Pac-Man board game - never seen this one before

Ms. Pac-Man board game – never seen this one before

 

A large display of historic and war games (unfortunately, most of my pics came up too blurry to display).

A large display of historic and war games (unfortunately, most of my pics of this display came up too blurry to display).

 

137

I REALLY want to play this one.

I want to know more about this one...

I want to know more about this one…

 

Display of Euro games, and how they've started to change the landscape of board games.

Display of Euro games, and how they’ve started to change the landscape of board games.

165Just around the corner from this exhibit (and the exhibit of electronic games which has one of the best collection of arcade machines since the last time I visited by beloved Sultan’s Castle arcade from the Muncie Mall…about 1985) was an exhibit all about Monopoly.  Now, I’m on record as a Monopoly hater, but I recognize the importance the game has had in our culture over the years.  With that being said, they had an incredible set of Monopoly items that I thought I would share pictures of as well.

One of the original, and I do mean original, Monopoly boards.  Hand printed, and colored.

One of the original, and I do mean original, Monopoly boards. Hand printed, and colored.

 

Typed deed and utilities cards

Typed deed and utilities cards

 

Chance and Community Chest cards

Chance and Community Chest cards

 

Original money

Original money

Can you believe I forgot to take a close-up picture of the houses and tokens?  Guh.  Too much to see in this museum.

One of the earliest square Monopoly boards.  Also hand colored.

One of the earliest square Monopoly boards. Also hand colored.

I cannot stress enough: if you ever have the chance to go to this museum, do so.  I know Rochester, New York is a bit out of the way (and the toll road to get there costs an arm and a leg), but it is so worth it.  I had a smile on my face the entire time I was here.  Granted, a lot of The Strong is geared towards young child play, but the young at heart have more than enough to do for a few hours.  Highly recommended.

Head to http://www.thestrong.org/ to learn more, and check out their online collections.

I also want to thank my friends from CABS, all the new friends I played games with at the Buckeye Game Fest, and my longtime home gaming group.  Gencon can say they have the best four days in gaming, but they lie.  The last four days have been the best anyone could have.  I needed it, and greatly appreciated it!

And since people might ask what I played: 5x Dungeon Roll – Never won it, but had a great time with games from 3 to 6 (!!) players.  4x  King of Tokyo – Won 2 of them!  Fun game, like it most with 5 players.  3x Lords of Waterdeep – once with the expansion.  I love this game, but still think the theme is useless.  Team Ticket to Ride – almost as nerve wracking as Hanabi.  Legendary – high on my list of favorite deck-builders – putting it away takes forever though.  Paperback – made a print and play copy – took a while to get going, but my group loved this one once they caught on.  T’Zolkin: The Mayan Calendar – A very fun game, but one I can’t play often.  Planet Steam – LOVED this one.  Am still thinking about how I could have played better… has a definite M.U.L.E. vibe to it.  Nanobots – Has a bit of a Tron lightcycle vibe to it.  Would like to play it again with more than 2 players.  This one could be popular once it gets released.

I’m sure there were more games played, but I can’t think of them right now.  Thanks everybody for reading!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Vacation Pictures!”

  1. Reba Meadows November 3, 2013 at 8:08 am #

    Parents and professionals have expressed a number of concerns related to electronic games. The violence depicted in games is a popular subject for research, due partly to several prominent cases linking computer games to crimes committed by children. To date, however, no substantial evidence has been found to support this theory. Another early concern was that the solitary nature of electronic games would somehow impair the development of social skills in children by limiting recreational activities with peers. While computer and video games are, by definition, indoor games, smaller handheld gaming consoles (such as Game Boy) were designed to be taken outside of the home.

Leave a Reply

