The rebirth of MLB Showdown

15 Apr

For various reasons, I’m trying to step up the amount I’m writing to the blog. I’m still trying to keep the focus mainly on obscure / odd games from my collection, but when the mood hits I may talk about new games, or other projects that I find particularly interesting…like this one.

 

MLB Showdown was one of my favorite collectible card games. My friends and I were huge baseball fans, but didn’t really have the time or attention spans to learn a more in-depth game like Strat-O-Matic Baseball. MLB Showdown let us be the General Manager, Manager, and players. Sadly, as time went on, I drifted away from my play group, and the game was eventually discontinued by Wizards of the Coast after the 2005 set.

Recently, as I was going through my twitter followers list (sometimes I miss people, what can I say?) I came across someone I didn’t know named Colby, and a username that intrigued me @mlbshowdownguru . As I dug into the blog  Colby runs, I realized that he was not just a fan of the game as well, he was actually keeping the game alive. What he, and a small group of friends, have been doing for the past few seasons is basically making brand new cards, based on the previous years’ statistics.

If you visit the blog at  http://mlbshowdowncards.blogspot.com/ you can go along and see detailed, position by position ratings for all players, based on their 2013 stats…just as you would find them on old MLB Showdown cards! They make the stats freely available (releasing them over time as the season progresses). However, playing a baseball game with a bunch of handwritten cards isn’t exactly my idea of fun.

What they’ve done is made 20 player cards for each of the 30 teams, there are enough players (as per the MLB Showdown rules) for you to field your favorite team! That was not possible in the original game, especially for fans of less popular teams…which had as few as 6 cards available in a set. The cards are designed to look just like the original 2000 set.

 

If you’re interested, and would like more information on how to get sets of your own – you can e-mail redsoxman2011@gmail.com for more info, and check out the blog at http://mlbshowdowncards.blogspot.com/

 

3 Responses to “The rebirth of MLB Showdown”

  1. Colby April 16, 2014 at 9:59 am #

    I would also like to give credit to the rest of our staff @Roktikitiki is the person to thank fr all our beautiful graphics. He works many obscure hours bringing to life many of my hairbrained ideas. @BucNfortheCard @Markrom3 @KyeVanPelt have all been amazingly helpful in their roles in behind the scenes work that you may not expect are important to providing a serviceable website.

  2. Matthew Pennertz (@RokTikiTiki) April 16, 2014 at 3:25 pm #

    Thanks for the blog shout-out! It is times like this that the late nights and countless hours watching baseball (which isn’t too bad) and searching for player images and tweaking cards worth it, to hear such complimentary words.

    • Brett July 15, 2015 at 4:54 am #

      I gotta ask…how do you create these cards??

Leave a Reply

